Narcotic Drugs

Psychotropic Substances

Treaty Compliance






Categories of Precursor Chemicals

The International Narcotics Control Board has defined a list of precursor chemicals frequently used in the illicit manufacture of narcotic and psychotropic substances under international control. For further details click here.

Currently there are 24 precursor chemicals under control in the European legislation. These are split into 4 categories, based on the risk they pose balanced against their level of legitimate use. Each category has differing requirements under the main pieces of legislation.

Category 1
1-phenyl-2-propanone (BMK), N-acetylanthranilic acid, isosafrol, 3.4-
methymethylenedioxyphenyl-propan-2-one (PMK), piperanol, safrole, ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, norephedrine, ergometrine, ergotamine, lysergic acid, alpha-phenylacetoacetonitrile (APAAN)

Category 2
      Subcategory 2A  – Acetic anhydride
      Subcategory 2B  – Phenylacetic acid, anthranilic acid, piperidine, potassium permanganate, 

Category 3

Hydrochloric acid, Suplhuric acid, Toluene, Ethyl ether, Acetone, Methylethylketone (MEK)

Category 4

Human medicinal products and veterinary medicinal products containing ephedrine and pseudoephedrine

Close Menu